a major competition for instrumentalists

Welcome to Gregynog Young Musician

Patron: Professor Ieuan Jones
President: Lady Davies

Willard Carter - Gregynog Young Musician of the Year 2018

The Gregynog Young Musician Competition was founded in 2005 and has become one of the most prestigious events of its kind. The competition is held annually at the highly acclaimed Gregynog Hall, which has a long history of association with music and the arts.

Entrants must be aged 18 years and under and have reached Grade 8 standard or equivalent, on any orchestral instrument, brass band instrument or percussion. Go to our Entry form for more details and Competition Rules.

The chosen finalists compete for the first prize of £3,000 and the Peter Garbett-Edwards trophy.

The winner will also receive invitations to perform at Tenby Arts Festival and Machynlleth Tabernacle.


Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Gregynog Hall

The Competition

The competition is divided in to 5 separate categories as follows:

'Gregynog Young String Player of the Year'

'Gregynog Young Pianist of the Year'

'Gregynog Young Woodwind Player of the Year'

'Gregynog Young Brass Player of the Year'

'Gregynog Young Harpist / Guitarist / Percussionist of the Year'

Prize money

For the overall winner awarded the title
'Young Musician of the Year'

Category Winners will receive

Young Accompanist winner will receive
The Chairman's Trophy
and £400.00